i-3-banner-program.jpg

Getting Started

Getting Started

I3– Investigate! Invent! Innovate!™ has three components:

  1. Investigate:  Students first investigate the scientific principles related to developing a new idea.
  2. Invent: students identify a problem in their own lives and invent a product or process based on the scientific principles they’ve just learned. Guest experts act as a resource to help mentor the students.
  3. Innovate:  The final step involves the commercialization process. They learn about bringing their inventions to market and have an opportunity to showcase them to the public at the annual Invention Convention held in April across many cities in Canada.
The Invention Conventions are the highlight of the program, where students have the opportunity to present their inventions at annual conventions held in Toronto, North Bay, Ottawa, Calgary and Edmonton each spring.
 
 
 

How the I³ - Investigate! Invent! Innovate!™ Program Works

For Teachers:
The I3 program is an integral part of the curriculum and allows the teachers to use their normal repertoire of teaching strategies. Teachers will have students: The I3 program integrates learning across a variety of subjects such as language, math, science, visual arts, information technology and history.




I3 Program Calendar Action Plan

SAVE THE DATE!  Thursday, April 24, 2014: Invention Conventions will be held across Canada. Stay tuned for more details.


I3– Investigate! Invent! Innovate!™ Regional Program Managers:
 
National Manager and GTA - John Reynolds
Phone: (416) 915 7521
Email: jreynolds@thelearningpartnership.ca

British Columbia - Fran Jones 
Email: fjones@thelearningpartnership.ca

Calgary -  Bruce Gale
Email: bgale@thelearningpartnership.ca

Calgary - Garry Jeffrey 
Email: jeffrey@thelearningpartnership.ca

Edmonton – Sid Shugarman 
Email: sshugarman@thelearningpartnership.ca

New Brunswick - Andrew Hopper
Email: ahopper@thelearningpartnership.ca

Northern Ontario – Olive Ridler
Email: oridler@thelearningpartnership.ca
Ottawa, Ontario – Margaret Skinner
Email: mskinner@thelearningparthership.ca