2004 - 2005 Champions

2004 - 2005 Honourees

Tony Comper
Former President & CEO, BMO Financial Group

Tony Comper was appointed CEO in February 1999, and also served as Chairman from July 1999 to May 2004, when the bank moved to a non-executive Chairman model.
In Memoriam – The Late
Hon. Dr. Lois E. Hole C.M., A.O.E.
Former Lt. Governor of Alberta

Mrs. Hole served as a school trustee for the St. Albert School District #6 from 1981 to the fall of 1998. She previously served, for fourteen years, as a trustee and chairperson for the Sturgeon School Division and, for eleven years, as a member of the Athabasca University Governing Council. Mrs. Hole has served as director of the Farm Credit Corporation and as Honourary Chair for the 27th Canadian Congress on Criminal Justice and for the Children's Millennium Fund. She also served as a board member of the Canadian Heritage Garden Foundation, the Child & Adolescent Services Association and the Quality of Life Commission. As Chancellor of the University of Alberta, Her Honour served as the titular head of the University, chairing all Senate meetings, serving as a member of the Board of Governors, representing the University at all ceremonial occasions and presiding over convocation to confer all degrees.

In 1983, Mrs. Hole was awarded an honourary doctorate from Athabasca University and in 1997 received a Distinguished Citizen Honourary Diploma in Business from Grant MacEwan Community College. In 1995 she was named as both Edmonton Business and Professional Woman of the Year and as St. Albert's Citizen of the Year. In 1999 she was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada. She was installed as Lieutenant Governor on February 10th, 2000.
The Hon. Henry N. R. Jackman O.C., O.Ont.
Honourary Chairman, Dominion of Canada General
Insurance Company, Former Lt. Governor of Ontario

The Honourable Henry N.R. Jackman, chancellor of the University of Toronto and former Lieutenant-Governor of Ontario, is currently the president and chairman of E-L Financial Corporation.

He is the founding chairman of the Ontario Foundation of the Arts, and has served on the boards of a large number of cultural and philanthropic institutions, most notably as chairman of the Ontario Arts Council and as president of the Canadian Opera Company.

He is a member of the university’s Campaign Executive Committee, president of the Henry N. R. Jackman Foundation and chair of the J. P. Bickell Foundation. In 2000, he received the Canadian Forces Decoration. He is an officer of the Order of Canada, a member of the Order of Ontario and a Knight of Justice of St. John of Jerusalem.
Dr. Claude Lajeunesse
President & CEO, Aerospace Industries Association of Canada
Former President & Vice Chancellor, Ryerson University

Claude Lajeunesse joined the Aerospace Industries Association of Canada (AIAC) in January 2008 following his tenure as president of Concordia University in Montreal. Prior to this, he served as president of Ryerson University in Toronto for ten years, where he led the institution through significant increases in enrolment, a major development of its academic and research programs, and engineered a renewal of campus facilities. He is also past president and CEO of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (AUCC).

A native of Quebec City, Claude Lajeunesse obtained a Ph.D. and M.Sc. in Nuclear Engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI) in Troy, New York, following a B.Sc.A. in engineering physics from the École Polytechnique de Montréal. He is currently a member of the board of Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL). A fellow and past president of the Canadian Academy of Engineering, he is also a member of the Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec.
Dr. Martha C. Piper O.C., O.B.C.
Former President & Vice-Chancellor, University of British Columbia

Dr. Piper received her PhD in Epidemiology and Biostatistics at McGill University (1979), and has served as Director of the School of Physical and Occupational Therapy, McGill University (’79-’85), Dean of the Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine, University of Alberta (’85-’93) and Vice President, Research and External Affairs, University of Alberta (’93-’97). From 1997 to 2006 she served as the 11th President of the University of British Columbia.

In 2007, Dr. Piper assumed Board memberships with CARE Canada, the Institute for Research on Public Policy, the BC Children’s Hospital Foundation and the Dalai Lama Centre for Peace and Education. In 2008, Dr. Piper joined the Canadian Institutes of Advanced Research and assumed the Chair of the Board of the National Institute of Nanotechnology. Dr. Piper currently is a member of the Board of Directors of the Bank of Montreal, TransAlta Corporation, Shoppers Drug Mart, and Grosvenor Americas Ltd and is a member of the Trilateral Commission.

The recipient of 17 honorary degrees, Dr. Piper is an officer in the Order of Canada and a member of the Order of British Columbia. She was named Educator of the Year by the Learning Partnership in 2004 , was appointed an Honorary Fellow of Merton College, Oxford University in 2007 and elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in 2008.
Courtney Pratt, C.M.
Chairman & CEO, Toronto Region Research Alliance

Courtney Pratt was appointed Chairman, Stelco Inc. effective April 1, 2006. From January 1, 2004 to March 31, 2006 Mr. Pratt was President and Chief Executive Officer of Stelco Inc. Prior to this, Mr. Pratt was President and Chief Executive Officer, Toronto Hydro Corporation since April 23, 2001; President and Chief Executive Officer of Hydro One Networks Inc., a regulated subsidiary of Hydro One Inc. from January 2000; President of The Caldwell Partners, an executive search firm, from September 1998; and Chair and President of Noranda Inc., an international natural resources company, before he joined The Caldwell Partners.

Mr. Pratt is a director of the Empire Company, Stelco Inc., Moosehead Breweries Limited, Knightsbridge Human Capital and 407ETR. Mr. Pratt is currently an Advisor for Celerant Consulting, Inc. He is also a member of the Ontario Advisory Council of Telus.

Mr. Pratt was awarded the Order of Canada in January 1999. Mr. Pratt’s on-going community involvement includes Director of Canadian Policy Research Networks (CPRN), Canadian Council on Learning and Toronto City Summit Alliance. Mr. Pratt was Chair of the Board and Chair of the Campaign of the United Way of Greater Toronto, Director and Past Chair of The Learning Partnership, Director of Career Edge, Director of the Toronto Board of Trade. He was also Chair of the Board of the United Way in Calgary. He was Chair of Imagine, is the Founding Chair of The Charter for Business of the Duke of Edinburgh’s Awards in Canada, and is a past Director of the University Health Network.