2002 - 2003 Champions

2002 - 2003 Honourees

​​Harold M. Brathwaite
Former Director of Education, Peel District School Board

Currently Executive Directors of the Retired Teachers of Ontario, he has taught at the elementary, secondary and university levels and served on several professional associations and Ontario Ministry of Education committees. Harold’s career culminated in his promotion of Director of Education for the Peel District School Board in 1994. Harold was a department head, via principal, administrative assistant to the Superintendent of Programs of Halton Board and was Principal of M.M. Robinson High School in Burlington.

In 2002 he retired from the position of Director of Education of the Peel Board. He came out of retirement in January 2003, to take up the position of Senior Advisor to the President of Seneca College. In September 2004 he assumed his current position of Executive Director of the Retired Teachers of Ontario.
The Hon. Margaret N. McCain O.C., O.N.B.
Former Lt. Governor of New Brunswick

The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain was appointed Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of New Brunswick - the first female to hold this position. She served in that role until April, 1997. Margaret McCain was a member of the Board of the National Ballet School for 18 years serving as Board Chair from 1998 to 2000. She then went on the Chair the Schools successful $100 million fund raising campaign.She is also Honourary Colonel of the Governor General’s Horseguards and serves on the Boards of the Council for Early Child Development, the Canadian Policy Research Network, The Canadian Women’s Foundation, The Learning Partnership and the Atkinson Centre for Society and Child Development. In 1998 Mrs. McCain was appointed by the Secretariat for Children, Province of Ontario, co-chair of the “Early Years Study.” In 2002 she co-chaired a Commission on Early Learning and Child Development for the City of Toronto. She has participated in numerous early child development policy and programme initiatives in Canada and is frequently asked to speak at conferences, seminars and meetings across the country.
Eric P. Newell, O.C., A.O.E.
Former Chancellor, University of Alberta
Former Chairman & CEO, Syncrude

Mr. Newell served Syncrude Canada Ltd. for 14 years as the company’s Chief Executive Officer (1989-2003) and for nine years as Chairman (1994-2003). He also served as President from 1989 to 1997. Mr. Newell served on the University of Alberta Board of Governors for six years (1996 – 2002), the last four of those years as the Chair. In June, 2004, he was installed as the 18th Chancellor of the University of Alberta.

Mr. Newell holds a Masters of Science in Management Studies (1968), University of Birmingham, England, and a Bachelor of Applied Science in Chemical Engineering (1967), University of British Columbia. He is an Officer of the Order of Canada, a member of the Alberta Order of Excellence, and has had Honorary Doctorates conferred on him by the University of Lethbridge (2005), University of British Columbia (2003), University of Alberta (2002), Northern Alberta Institute of Technology (2000) and Athabasca University (1995). He has also been honoured by many other organizations whose interests lie in business leadership, education, youth development and public policy. The Energy Council of Canada named him 2003 Energy Person of the Year.

Mr. Newell currently serves as: Board Chair, CAREERS: The Next Generation; Board Chair, Climate Change and Emissions Management Corporation; Board Chair, Alberta Innovate – Energy and Environment Solutions; Vice-Chair, Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Arts Awards Foundation; Director, Nexen Inc.; Director, The Gairdner Foundation; Director, TELUS World of Science; Honorary Chair, Centre for Family Literacy; and Policy Advisor to The Learning Partnership.
Dr. Bernard Shapiro, O.C., G.O.Q.
Former Principal & Vice-Chancellor McGill University

In 1980, he moved to Toronto to assume the position of Director of the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE), a post he held until 1986, when he was appointed Deputy Minister of Education for the Province of Ontario and since that time he has also served as Deputy Minister of Skills Development, Deputy Secretary of Cabinet, Deputy Minister and Secretary of Management Board and Deputy Minister of Colleges and Universities. In 1992, following his retirement from the Ontario Public Service, Dr. Shapiro joined the University of Toronto as a Professor of Education and Public Policy. In September 1999 Dr. Shapiro was appointed Officer of the Order of Canada.

He is past president of the Canadian Society for the Study of Education and of the Social Science Federation of Canada. He has also served on the executive committee of the International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement (TEA) and as Chairman of the governing board of the Centre for Educational Research and Innovation in Paris. Currently, he is the Chair of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Bureau for International Education (CBIE), Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Royal Military College, Co¬chair of the Societe du Havre in Montreal and Vice-President of CJA Federation also in Montreal.
Nancy C. Southern
Deputy Chair, President & Chief Executive Officer ATCO Ltd.

Nancy Southern was appointed President & Chief Executive Officer, ATCO Ltd. and Canadian Utilities Limited effective January 1, 2003. Previously she had been Co-Chairman & Chief Executive Officer since January 2000; Deputy Chief Executive Officer since May 1998 and Deputy Chairman since January 1996 of ATCO Group. She has been a Director of the Corporation since 1989.

She is currently a Director of ATCO Ltd., Canadian Utilities Limited and serves on the Boards of all the ATCO Group subsidiary companies. She is also a Director of the Bank of Montreal, Shell Canada Limited, Akita Drilling Ltd., and Sentgraf Enterprises Limited. She serves on the Management Resources & Compensation Committee of the Shell Canada Board and the Bank of Montreal's Risk Review Committee.