2000 - 2001 Champions

2000 - 2001 Honourees

The Hon. Monique Bégin C.P., O.C.
Treasurer, International Centre for Migration and Health Former Minister National Health and Welfare

A sociologist in applied social sciences research, Monique Bégin served as the Executive Secretary of the Royal Commission on the Status of Women in Canada (1967-1970) before becoming the first woman from Québec elected to the House of Commons (Liberal, 1972). Re-elected in 1974, 1979, 1980, she was appointed Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Foreign Affairs (1975-1976) by Prime Minister P.E. Trudeau. Sworn in as Minister of National Revenue (1976-1977), she was then twice appointed Minister of National Health and Welfare (1977-1984). Besides creating the Refundable Child Tax Credit (1978) (now Canada Child Tax Benefit), she remains best known for the Canada Health Act (1984).

She left politics in September 1984. A university professor since, Monique Bégin was the first holder of the Joint Chair in Women's Studies at Ottawa and Carleton Universities. Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences at University of Ottawa (1990-1997), she also co-chaired the Royal Commission on Learning of Ontario (1993-1994) and was a member of the International Independent Commission on Population and Quality of Life (1993-1996). A Visiting Professor with the Health Administration Program at the Telfer School of Management since 1998, she was appointed a member of the WHO Commission on Social Determinants of Health (2005-2008). She is currently serving as Vice-Chair of the Canadian Index of Wellbeing Advisory Board.

A Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (1996), Monique Bégin has received 16 honorary doctorates in recognition of her contribution to human rights and to public policies. In 1998, she was invested as Officer of the Order of Canada.
The Hon. Ken Dryden, P.C., M.P.
Former President, Toronto Maple Leafs

Ken Dryden was first elected to the House of Commons as the Member of Parliament for York Centre in 2004 and was re-elected in 2006 and 2008. From 2004 to 2006, he served as Minister of Social Development. In 1984, he was appointed Ontario’s first Youth Commissioner. Before entering federal politics, Mr. Dryden served as President of the Toronto Maple Leafs.

Mr. Dryden is well-known for his achievements as goaltender for the Montreal Canadiens hockey team from 1971 to 1979, during which time the team went on to win six Stanley cups. Mr. Dryden is a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame, the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame and the International Scholar-Athlete Hall of Fame.

Mr. Dryden holds a degree in history from Cornell University and a degree in Law from McGill University. He has also received honorary doctoral degrees from the universities of Ottawa, Windsor, York, McMaster, St. Mary’s, Niagara and British Columbia.

Currently, Mr. Dryden serves as the Liberal Party’s National Outreach Advisor, Poverty and Working Families, and Special Liaison, National Fundraising.
Jean C. Monty C.M.
Special Advisor, General Atlantic Partners
Former Chairman & President, Bell Canada Enterprises Inc.

Jean Monty is Corporate Director Bombardier Inc. since 1998 and Chairman of the Human Resources and Compensation Committee and Member of the Corporate Governance and Nominating Committee. On April 24, 2002, Mr. Jean C. Monty retired as Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE Inc.), following a 28-year career. Prior to joining BCE Inc., he was Vice Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Nortel Networks Corporation. He joined Nortel in October 1992 as President and Chief Operating Officer, becoming President and Chief Executive Officer in March 1993. He began his career at Bell Canada in 1974 and held numerous positions in the BCE group. In recognition of his achievements, he was named Canada’s Outstanding CEO of the Year for 1997. He is Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors of Centria Inc. Since December 2008, he is a Director of Alcatel-Lucent SA and Chairman of its Audit and Finance Committee.
Dr. Bette Stephenson O.C., O.Ont.
Director Emeritus, EQAO
Former Minister of Education Ontario

Dr. Bette M. Stephenson is a medical doctor and politician. She served in the Legislative Assembly of Ontario from 1975 to 1987, and was a cabinet minister in the Progressive Conservative governments of Bill Davis and Frank Miller.

Dr. Stephenson practised medicine for more than 40 years. She was a founding member of the College of General Practice in Canada, now known as the College of Family Physicians Canada. She was also the first female member of the board of directors of the Ontario Medical Association and the Canadian Medical Association, and served as the first female president of both organizations.

Dr. Stephenson was first elected to the Legislative Assembly of Ontario in the 1975 provincial election, representing the constituency of York Mills in North York. She was appointed to Bill Davis's cabinet as Minister of Labour on October 7, 1975, and won a convincing re-election victory over Liberal candidate Wilfred Caplan in the 1977 election. On August 18, 1978, she was named Minister of Education and Minister of Colleges and Universities. Stephenson was named as Ontario's first female Treasurer and Deputy Premier. She retired from politics at the 1987 provincial election. In the 1990s, Dr. Stephenson was appointed as a Board Member on the province's new Education Quality and Accountability Office, Chairman of the Learning Opportunities Task Force, a founding member of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Researched, and in recent years has been an advocate of privately-owned and financed universities. In 1992, she was made an Officer of the Order of Canada. In 1999, she was awarded the Order of Ontario.